Personal Mission Statement

So guess what – I have started a new job. Yay! …Well it is more than just a “job” – I feel this will become very much part of my lifestyle should it become what I think it could.  Anyhow, as part of my on-boarding with my new employer I was tasked with reading Habit 2 from “7 Highly Habits of Highly-Effective People“. I have always wanted the time to read this book – but as part of my “90 days” I am being allotted so much time to read and discover myself. This is as part of their culture – they want their employees to find their strengths, understand their goals, understand what they really want and then begin to start the journey. In theory this should result in “wild success” for not only the employee but for the team, the leadership and the company as a whole.

Anyhow, so back to Habit 2. My mentor here suggested this reading so they can take it and understand what it is I want to focus on and help guide me .  After I completed the reading I provided them a 3 pager of information. I am not going to paste the entire document here, but I felt it was important to share my personal mission statement. This is how I am going to hold myself accountable. If I kept it between myself and my mentor, I still have accountability however not quite at the same level. So here it goes.. a bit about the journey and then the statement:

Before starting I needed inspiration. I came across Erma Bombeck.. She wrote this:

“If I had my life to live over, I would have talked less and listened more. I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded. I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room and worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace. I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth. I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed. I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage. I would have sat on the lawn with my children and not worried about grass stains. I would have cried and laughed less while watching television – and more while watching life. I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband. I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for the day. I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn’t show soil or was guaranteed to last a lifetime. Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy, I’d have cherished every moment and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was the only chance in life to assist God in a miracle. When my kids kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, “Later. Now go get washed up for dinner.” There would have been more “I love you’s”.. More “I’m sorrys” … But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute… look at it and really see it … live it…and never give it back.” –E.B.

Oh my god – could I just take her reflections and make it my mission statement? I would have liked too, but that is unauthentic and I really need to do this exercise – for my soul.

So I re-began my journey. However I just sat there staring at the blank white screen on my desktop.  I did a little searching again and found the Franklin Covey’s Public Mission tool. I figured this could guide me along. It was a good choice. This is what it generated:

I am at my best when I have gotten enough sleep and give less focus on the negative chatter in my head.

I will try to prevent times when I become too focused on things that could wait and then eventually push people away – otherwise I will miss out on some great moments..

I will enjoy my work by finding employment where I can team up with creative customer-centric and intelligent folks and work on solutions to all kinds of problems. I will also enjoy my work where I can be allowed to build people up, have them see their potential, continue to hold the flag for them and lead them to the finish line.

I will find enjoyment in my personal life through quiet moments with my kids. I will also get outside more and play in the sun, stop and listen to the sounds around us, feel the wind and talk about those experiences.

I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as my humor, creativity, vocalization, intuitive intelligence, communication, drive, empathy.

I can do anything I set my mind to. I will eventually travel the world, experience other cultures, take time to be part of those cultures, learn from them, their languages, their ways to ultimately find myself and become a more understanding and empathetic person..

My life’s journey is to help family, friends and others to realize there is so much more to living. To teach them to take breaks from work, to take time to feed their souls and minds, to paint, to create, to teach, to talk, to love. The end result would hopefully be a group of people with a much richer outlook on life and a relaxed mentality..

I will be a person who is self-sacrificing to help others growth. I will always lead by example. I will always be authentic and down to earth. I will use humor to break the tension. I will use my creativity to solve for problems that are blocking people from reaching their goals. I will be caring and open. I will love fully and always be an excellent parent, friend, confidant.

My most important future contribution to others will be my patience and love and a place where they can grow, and from them I will also grow..

I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

  •          My insecurities
  •          My extreme task orientated nature
  •          My comfort with solitude

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

  • Helper and Enabler
  • Thinking systematically
  • Even-Tempered

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

  • Physical: eating healthy, sleep, outdoor activities
  • Spiritual: meditate, theological research and study
  • Mental: practicality, less repetitive analysis, more broader studies
  • Social/Emotional: Surround myself with loving, fun people

I am glad I performed this exercise and took it very seriously. While still very much a draft, I do believe this is close to what I need for me right now. This will become my “goal post”, my “personal constitution”, this will keep my conscience focused with the end in mind. What a different way of thinking… I am excited.

Do you have a personal statement?

Leave a Reply

